Greece extends ban for flights to/from 7 countries and non-EU nationals

Greece extends ban for flights to/from 7 countries and non-EU nationals

Greece extends ban for flights to/from 7 countries and non-EU nationals
May 15, 2020 CORONAVIRUS, FEATURED, Tourism Leave a comment
Greece extended on Friday afternoon the flight ban to/from seven European Countries, while all international flights will be allowed to land at Athens International Airport only. At the same time, the ban on non-EU nationals remains in force until end of May.

According to a statement issued by the Greek Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) the flight ban refers to flights to/from Greece to/from Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Turkey, Albania and Northern Macedonia .

The CAA has issued the following aviation instructions (a total of 5 new Notams) for the protection of passengers and citizens from the COVID-19 pandemic:

– The suspension of all passenger flights to and from Greece to Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom and the Netherlands is extended until 31 May 2020 at 23:59.

– The temporary ban on flights to and from Albania and Northern Macedonia is extended until June 14, 2020 at 23:59.

-The ban on all flights to Greek territory regarding Turkey extends until June 14, 2020 at 23:59

– Only at the Athens airport “Eleftherios Venizelos” (DAA) are allowed, arrivals / departures of international flights, the specific aviation directive is valid until May 31, 2020 at 23:59

– The temporary ban on entry into the country of non-European citizens remains in force until 31 May 2020 at 23:59.

The CAA points out that domestic flights, which are normally operated so far but in limited numbers, are expected to gradually restore frequencies and connections from Monday 18 May, 2020, due to the lifting of the travel ban in the country.

It is noted that the temporary suspension of flights excludes cargo flights, sanitary, humanitarian, aircraft return flights only with its crew (ferry flights), state flights, flights, in emergency, military flights (military, these flights are not valid for Turkey), the flights of Frontex, for refueling, support flights of the Greek National Health System as well as flights repatriating Greek citizens..

The following exemptions also apply to temporary entry bans for citizens from non-European countries: Members of European citizens’ families, citizens of Schengen countries, health personnel, third-country nationals with long-term visas in a European country and a Schengen country, state, military, humanitarian personnel, aircraft crews and those non-European citizens who have obtained a permit to travel from a Greek consulate.

Head of Greek Civil Protection Nikos Hardalias said on Friday afternoon that instructions for road traveling to Greece are expected to be announced in the next few days, maybe on Saturday, May 16.

Greece plans to gradually open its borders to foreign tourists on July 1.

Greece extends ban for flights to/from 7 countries and non-EU nationals

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *